Celebrating Champions of Free Expression 

Thank you to our sponsors and everyone who joined us in person and virtually to honor this year’s First Amendment heroes!

Event Chairs: Peter Nguyen and Joseph Reef


Alberto Ibargüen

Alberto Ibargüen

President and CEO, John S. and James L. Knight Foundation
Al Neuharth Award for Excellence in the Media


Eric Treene

Eric Treene

Former Special Counsel for Religious Discrimination, Civil Rights Division, Department of Justice


Nikole Hannah-Jones

Nikole Hannah-Jones

Knight Chair in Race and Journalism and Founder of the Center for Journalism and Democracy, Howard University


Cynthia Choi, Russell Jeung and Manjusha P. Kulkarni

Cynthia Choi, Russell Jeung and Manjusha P. Kulkarni

Founders of Stop AAPI Hate



Platinum Sponsors

The Reef Team Knight Foundation

Gold Sponsors

Bloomberg Philanthropies The New York Times Company Stand Together Trust
Silver Sponsors

Goldman Sachs • Heather and Paul Haaga Jr. • President Wayne A.I. Frederick, Howard University • John and Cynthia Lee • Jan Neuharth and Joseph Keusch • News Corp • Sequentur • Twitter • Barbara and Christopher Wall

Health & Safety Sanitation Station Sponsor

Storzer & Associates, P.C.

Coat Check Sponsor

Baker Donelson

Media Sponsor

The Wall Street Journal

Valet Sponsors

Marcum LLP • Nixon Peabody LLP • USA TODAY Network

Additional support provided by Rogers Yogodzinski LLP.

To support the Free Expression Awards, contact Elizabeth Dickson at 202-292-6371 or [email protected].

Steering Committee

Peter Nguyen and Joseph Reef, Event Chairs
Kristina Arriaga
Martin Baron
Wolf Blitzer
Antoinette Bush
Connie Chung and Maury Povich
Wayne A. I. Frederick
Heather and Paul G. Haaga Jr.
Clark Hoyt and Linda Kauss
Brent W. Jones
John and Cynthia Lee
Elisa Lees Muñoz
Barbara Wall
Judy Woodruff and Al Hunt

Honorary Host Committee

Senator Ben Cardin
Congresswoman Judy Chu
Congresswoman Sharice Davids
Senator Dianne Feinstein
Congresswoman Kay Granger
Senator Amy Klobuchar
Senator Patrick J. Leahy
Speaker Nancy Pelosi, U.S. House of Representatives
Senator Rob Portman
Senator Jeanne Shaheen
Senator Chris Van Hollen
Senator Mark Warner

Celebrate 30 Years of The Freedom Forum