Newseum First Amendment Newsroom Diversity
Who we are
Freedom Forum Programs
Free Spirit
Privacy Statement

Today's News
Related links
Contact Us

spacer graphic

Freedom Forum-NCAA Foundation sports journalism scholarships


Printer-friendly page

INDIANAPOLIS — The Freedom Forum, in cooperation with the NCAA Foundation, has awarded eight $3,000 scholarships for 2002-03 to undergraduate students at NCAA member institutions majoring in journalism or sports journalism.

The program is specifically designed to foster freedoms of speech and press, while also promoting quality sports journalism education at the collegiate level. The eight one-year, nonrenewable scholarships are awarded to juniors who will be full-time seniors in the 2002-03 academic year.

The recipients and their undergraduate institutions are:

  • Anne Elizabeth Aydinian, University of Chicago
  • Emily Megan Badger, Northwestern University
  • Ryan Dean Brinks, University of Wisconsin, River Falls
  • Eric Dean Duffee, Drake University
  • Jeffrey Allen Rice, Pennsylvania State University
  • Jonathan Paul Saperstein, University of Washington
  • Christopher Michael Snow, Syracuse University
  • Grant Hayden Swallows, Tennessee Technological University

"These scholarships are investments in the future," said Charles L. Overby, chairman and chief executive officer of the Freedom Forum. "The NCAA Foundation is working to build the next generation, and we're pleased to help in that effort."

Since 1992, the Freedom Forum has awarded 79 $3,000 scholarships, totaling more than $237,000, to students at NCAA institutions through a partnership with the NCAA Foundation.

"We are pleased with the continued support of the Freedom Forum, which has provided 79 scholarship awards for academically superior students since the inception of the program," said Marion Peavey, executive director of the NCAA Foundation. "These scholarships are in recognition of high academic achievement, while also enabling these students to receive well-deserved financial assistance toward their educational and career goals."

Applications for the scholarships are judged by a selection committee chosen by The Freedom Forum and the NCAA Foundation. In addition to completing the application form, students must supply a college transcript, three examples of sports journalism work and a letter of recommendation. The deadline for applications is December of each year.

The NCAA Foundation was created in 1988 to generate funds in support of programs that enable student-athletes to participate fully in the college community, to achieve successful academic and athletics experiences, and to prepare to be effective citizens and productive contributors to society.